Information Technology Infrastructure Library



Giving the increasing role of I.T in achieving corporate aims, the Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL®) was established to provide the foundation for quality I.T. service management (ITSM). It is a set of best-practices that describe procedures, tasks and checklists, which are not organization-specific, but can be used by any organizations to establish an internationally recognized level of competency.

ITIL® provides the foundation for quality ITSM through documented and proven processes that covers the entire Service Lifecycle which allows organizations to establish a baseline from which it can plan, implement, measure and improve in a well controlled and systematic way.

This instructor-led course is specially designed for participants to attempt the ITIL® Foundation Certificate level. It will introduce I.T. professionals to the ITIL® 4 terminology, structure and basic concepts and an understanding of the I.T. Good Practice. Participants will understand how the 5 Service Lifecycles work, namely Service Strategy, Service Delivery, Service Transition, Service Operation and Continual Service Improvement, and the relationship between those Lifecycles.

View Schedule

About the Certification

  • The APM Group became the Official Accreditor for ITIL® with effect from 1st January 2007
  • ITIL® 4, which is the latest version, was was introduced in Nov 2018
  • ITIL® is aligned with various international quality standards including international standard ISO/IEC 20000 (IT Service Management Code of Practice)
  • Multinational corporations practicing ITIL® include Microsoft, IBM, Hewlett Packard, Disney, Telefonica, Barclays Bank, HSBC, Standard Chartered Bank, Citibank, British Airways, NASA, UK Ministry of Defense, UK National Health Service and many more…

Training Outlines

  • What is ITIL® and IT Service Management?
  • The Seven Guiding Principles of ITIL® 4
  • The Four Dimensions of Service Management
  • Define key terminology & concepts of Service Management
  • Service Value Systems
  • Continual Improvement
  • Relationship among Event, Incident, Problem, Change, Change and Service Desk
  • Overview of ITIL Practices
  • Understand the ITIL® 4 Certification Scheme
  • Group discussion and exercise
  • Exam preparation

Training Highlights

  • 20 hours of instructor-led professional training
  • Course will be delieverd by top-notch instructor – one of the few top ITIL® 4 Expert Certificate holders in Hong Kong, who also have accredied with all modules at Lifecycle Stream and Capacity Stream
  • Emphasis will be placed on the understanding of applying the ITIL® principles for:
    • Enhancing customer’s satisfaction and meet customer’s needs
    • Minimizing risks of I.T. service requirements
    • Reducing cost for developing procedures and practices improvement
    • Improving communication and information flows between I.T., customers and users
    • Assuring staffs are equipped with basic standards and appropriate guidance for a quality approach of I.T. service management and provision
    • Achieving greater productivity and better utilization of skills and experience

Examination Highlights

  • Closed book with 40 multiple choice questions to be answered in 60 minutes
  • Examination will be held on the last day of the training program, which is set by EXIN, one of the licensed Examination Institutes (EI) of the Official Accreditor, APM Group
  • The passing mark of the examination is 65% (26/40)

Chartered Requirements

  • No credit or certification prerequisite is required to register for ITIL® Foundation Certificate examination while the ITIL® Foundation Certificate is a prerequisite for further qualifications in ITIL®, including ITIL® Expert Certificate and ITIL® Master Certificate
  • The ITIL® 4 certification scheme offers a modular approach. On successful completion of the module, candidate will be rewarded with both a certification and a certain number of credits. For example, completion of ITIL® Foundation Certificate will be awarded 2 credits
  • There are three levels of qualifications within the ITIL® Qualifications scheme. The required modules and credits needed for each level is provided as follows:



Mr. William SL Cheng

  • ITIL® 4
  • ITIL® 3 Expert
  • ISO20000 Certified Consultant
  • ISEB Accredit trainer
  • Over 30 years of I.T. experience with MNCs in the Asia Pacific including:
    • IT Service and Support
    • IT BPO
    • IT Service Desk Operation
    • Data Storage Management
    • TIL Consulting and Implementation Experience